The Little Things


Yesterday. After a really sluggish day, decided to take a short hike/run up Meysan Trail (near Whitney Portal). I stopped to take a picture in the fading light. I reached in the belt pocket of my little pack. It was gone. My little camera! That kind of day! I continued up a bit further, snow lingering from last week’s storm. But soon I turned back thinking it would be easier to find my camera before sunset. About half way down, there it was. My camera presented on a big rock. Impossible to miss. On my way up I had encountered four people descending from a day hike. They had hoped to make it to the lakes but the trail was obscured by snow so they turned back. Returning to my car, I encountered them at a drive up campsite right by the trailhead. It was cold and they had a good fire going. A nice visit. Sometimes we tend to focus on what goes wrong, what we didn’t accomplish.

Leave a Reply

